Cabinet secretary: “I am not a professional blogger”

A cabinet secretary may not come across as your typical blogger, or PR person. But Mike Leavitt’s blog at the Department of Health and Human Services turns that stereotype on its head.

This morning, he was on a Kaiser Family webcast about why he blogs, how he finds time to do it (answer: sometimes on a stair-master in the gym.) Also how his organization looks at new media exercises like this. Some quotes:

  • “I speak my mind. I am just not reckless about it.”
  • “I am not a professional blogger … I have been taken under the wing of more seasoned bloggers.”
  • “information goes where people are, and public policy makers should do the same.”
  • “A secretary is the spokesperson. Too many HHS spokespersons could be a problem.”
  • “My blog is not a literary masterpiece –that is not my goal.”
  • “I choose the topic – not a reporter.”
  • “I choose the words – not a reporter.”

Leavitt was quizzed about moderated comments and the media reading his blog, and it was evident that he is much more interested in the unfiltered voice and format of the blog than being reduced to a sound bite, and being subject to the media filters. It reminded me of Sun Microsystems’ Jonathan Schwarz’s comment some years back that he decided to maintain his own blog because he was tired of being strained through the media filters.

Leavitt was a bit shaky on the audience question about whether he would promote his staffers to blog. (See quote above.) Which was odd for someone who embraces the democratized medium like this, and wants to hold on to the megaphone. That sounds like what a PR department would say.

I took it as a comment that suggests he is still thinking about this. Some blogger would/should take him under his/her wing on that one.

3 thoughts on “Cabinet secretary: “I am not a professional blogger”

  1. Pingback: High Profile Blogger of the Day

  2. Pingback: The end of anachronism? SEC could change Internet disclosure law «

  3. Pingback: High Profile Blogger of the Day - New Wine Web Design | Medical Website Design Phoenix

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.