Murdered editor pre-wrote his last editorial

The BBC and other major media have not covered it yet, but they soon will.

The editor of the Sunday Leader in Sri Lanka who was murdered last week wrote his last editorial, which was published yesterday.

In it there’s damning evidence and information, but the editorial reveals his calm acceptance that he will be killed, standing up for the truth.

“I want my murderer to know that I am not a coward like he is, hiding behind human shields while condemning thousands of innocents to death. What am I among so many? It has long been written that my life would be taken, and by whom. All that remains to be written is when.”

He ends with the fitting quote from German theologian, Martin Niemöller that Wickrematunge says inspired him during his youth.

“First they came for the Jews
and I did not speak out because I was not a Jew.
Then they came for the Communists
and I did not speak out because I was not a Communist.
Then they came for the trade unionists
and I did not speak out because I was not a trade unionist.
Then they came for me
and there was no one left to speak out for me.”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.